User Administration

This article is relevant for users with the right “Manage users” or administrators.

Users can only be managed manually if no automatic user synchronization via an API is active. Synchronization overwrites all user entries that do not have the “Do not synchronize” state.

General

Access to the user administration is gained via the “Users” button in the left menu column of the tool.

Status column: Here you will find all activated and deactivated users in the user database. Deactivated users are greyed out and are temporarily inactive (e.g. on parental leave). They have no access to the tool and cannot be invited to surveys. After the deletion period agreed with you, deactivated users are completely removed from the system. Before that, there is the possibility to reactivate the users.

Search/filter: You can search or filter for persons in each column.

Status: The “Status” column shows the activity status of the stored users. Deactivated users are highlighted in gray and are temporarily inactive (e.g. when on parental leave). They have no access to the tool and cannot be invited to surveys. After the specified deletion period, deactivated users are completely removed from the system. Before this, it is possible to reactivate the users.

Add new user

Step 1: Select “Add user” in the lower right corner of the user administration.

Step 2: A window opens in which you can create or edit new users. Enter all basic data about the users, such as: ID, first name, last name, email address, gender, language, roles, rights and states. The explanations for the individual states can be found by hovering over the individual state (mouse over). In addition, you can notify users by e-mail that an HRinstruments account has been created for them (option “Notify”).

Step 3: Click on “Save” to display the user in the database. You can further edit each user in the system by double-clicking on the corresponding person and adding additional information (e.g. location).


Edit user

In the user database, find the users you want to edit. When clicking on the desired users in the user database, the options “Delete”, “Deactivate” or “Activate” and “Edit” are displayed in the lower right corner of the tool.

The “Create or Edit User” window can also be opened by double-clicking on the desired user.

Edit: New information (e.g. name) about the users can be created here or existing information can be edited.

Deactivate: Users are deactivated from receiving and sending feedback and no longer have access to the tool. (Re)activating deactivated users is done in the same way.

Delete: All personal user data is permanently deleted.

Deleted users cannot be restored. If users have been deleted by mistake, they must be recreated and no longer have access to their old reports.

Assign attributes

The user’s attributes can be viewed and edited via the “Attributes” button.

Existing attribute values can be changed using the pencil icon next to the respective attribute. The “Add attribute” button can be used to create new attribute values for a user (e.g. attribute location, value “Munich”). Only attributes that were previously created in the user attribute management can be added. Only if you also add the attributes when creating new users are evaluations by attribute possible.

Assign organizational units

To assign users to the relevant departments, teams or projects, switch to the corresponding tab.